A Proper Introduction

It is still six days until my plane leaves for what feels like worlds unknown. I am sitting here at my computer thinking of how a proper blog greeting should go. I guess “thanks” is as good of start as any. Thank you mom and dad so very much. Mom especially; you have been a true study abroad warrior in every sense of the word. I can’t thank you enough for letting me have this opportunity to travel the world and cultivate stories that I know I will be telling for years. I love you both more than I can put into words. For those who are planning on keeping up with me during my travels with this blog, thank you. It’s great knowing I have people back home who love me and care for me enough to follow a blog about my travels. I shall not forget any of you.

Now, I guess from there I will give you a preview of what I’d like to do with this blog. First off, I want it to be a gateway for my friends and family back home to join me on my travels. I will write (to the best of my abilities) so that you may actually feel like you were with me as opposed to only reading about it. You will have to bear with me I warn you, I may not update this every single day. But please, don’t lose faith if I haven’t, I promise it will be update as often as I can get on the internet. Secondly, I want this blog to act almost like a memory book for myself. I am going to be keeping a journal because there is something about the pen and paper that makes everything seem more “authentic” but I will be using this blog as an electronic back up. It will (hopefully) contain pictures and videos so that you will have the opportunity to see what I will be seeing.

I guess that’s all for now. A lengthy first post I’ll admit that, but what can I say, I love to write. Oh, I should mention the title of my blog “There and Back Again: A Study Abroad Tale”. For those of you less versed in the ways of literature, I borrowed the title from J.R. Tolkien’s work “The Hobbit”. As some of you may not know, “There and Back Again” is the alternative title to “The Hobbit” and is also the book that protagonist Bilbo Baggins writes about his adventures. I thought it fitting because I feel a little like Bilbo, leaving my home in search of great adventures and stories to tell all you back in Hobbiton. I just hope they are vacant of all dragons and dark rings.

With Love,

Zach

5 comments on “A Proper Introduction

  1. Darlene says:

    Zach, your Mom gave me the link so I can follow also. I hope you have a wonderful time and safe travels. I look forward to reading about your adventure. I’m very excited for you. Have fun!! Regards, Darlene

  2. Greg says:

    Look forward to reading about your acventures.

  3. Greg says:

    waiting with great anticipation for your first blog post

  4. Phyllis says:

    We enjoy your blog. Looking forward to seeing pictures on it. Stay safe.
    Love, Grandma and Grandpa

Leave a Reply

