Aaaaaannnnnddd…We’re Back

My faithful bloggers! I know many of you have been eagerly awaiting my return to the blogging world and you must excuse me for my absence, a lot has happened over the past few weeks. What I’d like to do, and what I’m going to do (because it’s my blog) is start with recent events and then move backwards. So, in a way, we are going to be moving back in time for the next few posts. So without further ado, let’s begin.

Yesterday has been one of the more nerve-wracking and stressful days that any of us have had since being over here.  Upon my return from getting my Visa finalized (I’m coming home officially!) I discovered that our apartment had been broken in to. Believe me, this came as a huge shock due to the fact that our apartment rests in a very safe area of Prague. The odd thing was, the culprit didn’t as much as they could have. What I mean by this is that only a couple of cameras, iPods, headphones and one computer were taken along with my backpack (R.I.P. Eddie). Yet, three of our computers were in the apartment at the time of the break in as well as some other electronics. Besides these material things, nothing important was taken and no one was hurt. The police did a full search and had investigation teams searching for finger prints, but our hopes are not too high in finding our belongings.

Naturally everyone is still a little rattled and upset by the incident. It was told to me that “when unjust and seemingly undeserved things happen to us, we are really affected at the emotional level”. This is how we are all feeling right now and understand that more safety precautions are needed in our apartment. Though, out of all of this, I have learned that material things are just that, material things. With in an instant they are gone and there is really nothing we can do about it. This event has really realigned what I consider valuable and important in my life. Things are things, nothing more, nothing less.

There is no need to raise alarm fellow bloggers, we are all perfectly fine and safe. In fact, I’m sitting here drinking coffee eating some chips if you must know how I am doing. We’re going to go on living here as normal, just with some more precautions when leaving the apartment from now on. William Wallace said it best (or, I guess Mel Gibson), “They may take our lives, but they will never take our freedom!” Really the only disappointing thing to come out of all of this is I lost my backpack which I had since middle school. It also had my razor in it.

Anyways, until next post (which will be coming right up) I love you all and appreciate the prayers and support!

~Zach~

 

Leave a Reply

